Civil Engineering Department was established at the inception of the College in 1947. Technical courses took off with the establishment of the college . The courses then were meant to give training to Technical assistants, and Technical Officers for both government and private concerns.

The department offers courses leading to the award of National Diploma and the Higher National Diploma in Civil engineering. The department has turned out over sixty-five (65) sets of graduands to date, among whom are seasoned professional engineers, university professors, and career technocrats in Federal, State and Local Government.

The Department had been headed by engineers’ over the years as indicated below:

i. Engr . Y.S. Falade (1984 – 1986)

ii. Engr. G.R.O Cole (Late) (1986 – 1990)

iii. Dr.W.W. Izunagbara ((1990 – 1992)

iv. Engr. J.A. Adekoje (Late) (1992 – 1997)

v. Dr. K.B. Osifala (1997 – 2002)

vi. Engr. J.A Akora .(2002 – 2007)

vii. Engr.O.O Omokungbe (2007 – 2009)

viii. Engr. J.A Akora .(2009 – 2011)

ix. Engr. (Mrs) A.A Adeyemi. (2011 – 2015)

x. Dr. M.O Agoro. (2015 to date)

2.0 Administration.

The department is chaired by the Head of Department who is an academic Staff. Currently, there are twenty-three (23) staff in the department. There are twenty (20) academic staff and three (3) non - academic staff. The staff report regularly to the Head of Department. General administration of the department is by: Regular individual consultation Departmental meeting Through Class adviser/managers, examination officers, committees, etc.

3.0 Laboratories.

The department have two laboratories, namely Soil Mechanics/ Concrete Technology and Water/ Waste-water analysis. Structures and Transportation laboratories are in advanced stage of construction.

4.0 Academic & Administrative Staff lists.

The name of the current Head of Department is Dr. Musliu Olalekan Agoro. He is a holder of Ph.d Civil Engineering (Structural Engineering) from University of Ibadan (2015). He had earlier obtained ND& HND and B.Sc & M.Sc Civil Engineering from Yaba College of Technology and University of Lagos respectively. He joined the service of the College in January, 1993 as Assistant Lecturer and rose through the ranks to the level of Chief Lecturer in January, 2013. He is the Vice Chairman of the Nigerian Society of Engineers, Lagos Branch and is registered with Council For the Regulation of Engineering in Nigeria (COREN). He has designed and supervised the construction of numerous structures within and outside the College. Some of the project are, the seven storey building, Zenith Bank Multipurpose building and new three-storey Lecture theatre building, to mention but a few. He has published articles in scholarly journals including two (2) text books. He is happily married to Monsurat Abiodun Agoro with Children.